Milos

Southwest of the Cyclades, the volcanic island where was unearthed the Venus de Milo, one of the most famous statues in the world. Very scenic coastline, wild hinterland in the western part of the island.

 
SUGGESTIONS 
USEFUL LINKS 
APP STOREOur apps are currently only available for iOS. Our apologies to Android and Windows Phone users, we love you too!

Milos

Milos (in Greek Μήλος) is the southwesternmost island of the Cyclades.

On a total area of 58 sq mi, the largest part of the island is covered by hills which highest, Mount Profitis Ilias, rises to 2539 ft. As Santorini, it is a volcanic island, full of geological wonders. The main port is Adamas and the capital is Plaka.

The island was inhabited from the 3rd millennium BC and, in ancient times, it sold its obsidian to mainland Greece, Cyprus, Crete and Egypt. Milos was a major economic center of the Minoan civilization.

In 1820, during excavations in the ruins of the ancient city of Melos, archaeologists found a statue of Aphrodite with both arms missing: it is the famous Venus de Milo you see in Paris, in Louvre Museum. It has been carved with marble from Paros, the most translucent in the world.

A big attraction is the cruise around the island, much of the coastline being inaccessible by land. Black volcanic rock, white kaolin and basalt strata, colorful cliffs, wild beaches... Very picturesque!

On the coast and accessible by car, two places must definitely be visited: the fishing hamlet of Klima with its colorful houses at the waterfront and the beach of Sarikiniko with its lunar landscapes. Between Klima and Tripiti, you definitely have to visit the Catacombs of Milos, largest in the world after the catacombs of Rome!

The very wild coasts allowed for the survival of a highly endangered species, the monk seal, while in the western part of the island, accessible only with 4WD, you may come across the lebetina viper (macrovipera schweizeri), a species living only on Milos and neighboring Kimolos and Polyaigos.

For a selection of points of interest in Milos, use the buttons below.
To discover the islands, use the selector below.
© fusions.ch 1988-2018
All rights reserved for all countries

Milos

Située au sud-ouest des Cyclades, l'île volcanique où fut exhumée la Vénus de Milo, une des statues les plus célèbres du monde. Côtes vraiment spectaculaires, arrière-pays totalement sauvage dans tout l'ouest de l'île.

 
SUGGESTIONS 
LIENS UTILES 
APP STORENos applis sont actuellement disponibles uniquement pour iOS. Toutes nos excuses aux utilisateurs Android et Windows Phone, nous vous aimons aussi!

Milos

Milos (en grec Μήλος) est située à l'extrême sud-ouest de l'archipel des Cyclades.

D'une superficie globale de 151 km2, la plus grande partie de l'île est couverte de collines dont la plus haute, le mont Profitis Ilias, culmine à 774 mètres. Comme Santorin, c'est une île d'origine volcanique, pleine de merveilles géologiques. Le port principal est Adámas et la capitale Pláka.

L'île a été peuplée dès le IIIe millénaire av. J.‑C. et, durant l'Antiquité, elle a vendu son obsidienne à la Grèce continentale, à Chypre, en Crète et en Egypte. Ce fut un centre économique majeur de la civilisation minoéenne.

En 1820, au cours de fouilles dans les ruines de l'ancienne cité de Mélos, on trouva une statue d'Aphrodite à laquelle il manquait les deux bras: c'est la fameuse Vénus de Milo, visible au Musée du Louvre. Elle a été sculptée dans du marbre de Paros, le plus translucide du monde.

Une des grandes attractions est le tour de Milos en bateau, une bonne partie des côtes étant inaccessibles par voie de terre. Roches volcaniques noires, strates de kaolin blanc et de basalte, falaises colorées, petites plages sauvages... Très pittoresque!

Sur les côtes et accessibles en voiture, deux lieux sont à voir absolument: le hameau de pêcheurs de Klima avec ses maisonnettes colorées au bord de l'eau et la plage de Sarikiniko avec ses paysages lunaires. Entre Klima et Tripiti, il ne faut pas manquer de visiter les Catacombes de Milos, les plus grandes du monde après celles de Rome!

Les côtes très sauvages ont permis la survie d'une espèce très menacée, le phoque moine, alors que, dans la partie ouest de l'île, sauvage et accessible uniquement en 4x4, vit la vipère lebetina (macrovipera schweizeri), une espèce que l'on trouve uniquement sur Milos et ses voisines Kimolos et Polýaigos.

Pour une sélection de points d'intérêt à Milos, utilisez les boutons ci-dessous.
Pour découvrir les îles, utilisez le sélecteur ci-dessous.
© fusions.ch 1988-2018
All rights reserved for all countries